A Moment of Silence for 2023

All the topics I’ve written on, have either been what I’m thinking about or going through and for this month, I’ll share with you what’s been ringing in the back of my mind for a while now. The power of silence.

With less than a few hours to go in 2022, I’ve been wondering what to write about to complete ‘my one article a month goal’ for 2022. This year we’ve tackled various topics from management tips on giving and receiving feedback to life topics on how to make the most of your 20s. All the topics I’ve written on, have either been what I’m thinking about or going through and for this month, I’ll share with you what’s been ringing in the back of my mind for a while now. The power of silence.

As we all conclude our well deserved vacation period and prepare to get back into our normal day routines, I’d like to encourage us to take some time and revel in the silence before we hit the ground running in 2023. Why not hit pause on that show, switch off the background music and exist in the moment before ‘productivity’ comes calling.

If you’re on the beach, listen to the waves and be conscious of the wind as it blows over your skin.

If you’re in nature, listen to the chirping of the birds, the swaying of the trees and the occasional random sound that startles you prompting the ‘What’s that!?’ thought.

If you’re in your apartment, listen to the sounds around you. Embrace the silence or the chaos but go beyond what is right in front of you. Engage in the existence of silence in the nothingness or in the chaos.

In silence, we get to reconnect with ourselves beyond what we’re meant to do or be, we reconnect with what is. Experience gratitude for the year that has been and note down key lessons to take with you moving forward.

It’s in silence that we also get to find our long lost thoughts and dreams. Some good and some, not so good. Thoughts that we might have to learn to deal with in healthier ways in the year to come.

In 2023, I would like to challenge us to stop running away from silence and welcome it with open arms. It’s by embracing silence that we get to experience our inner selves, build our intuition and engage at a higher level.

I wish you all a happy 2023 filled with pockets of beautiful enlightening silent moments.

#ChooseToThrive.

PS: If you’re new to the #ChooseToThrive community, feel free to subscribe, I share monthly articles on life, leadership and the occasional travel post.

For those who have been consistent readers, thank you so much for your support. Here’s to another year of us growing together!

Reply

or to participate.